The Speech We Need (But Will Never Hear).

My Fellow Americans,

Our great nation was founded on the principle that a voice unheard is a voice not worth having. The day after my inauguration, you, the American people, spoke; and I have heard you.

The women of America marched; and I have seen you.

The media of America reported; and I must work with you.

In November of last year, We the People cast our ballots. We the People exercised that precious right—that civic duty—anxiously and jealously protected for two hundred thirty years. On that day, I received the highest honor of my life. Never have I had the privilege of such a heavy burden: the hopes and dreams of 318 million rest upon my shoulders.

I am no longer running for President of the United States of America. Today, I acknowledge this to you. Today, and every day after, I go to work for you.

Today, I promise to dismiss the disputes and the fist shaking and the name-calling and the crowd measuring. They are petty distractions, walls between me and my solemn duty to you. Today, I tear them down.

There is simply too much at stake for things to continue as they are. There are too many promises to keep, and too little focus. There is too much rhetoric, and too little cooperation. There is too much despair, and too little optimism.

Our country has lost sight of the dreams of her Founders.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice. The Supreme Court is not a tool of the President or Congress. It is an instrument of Justice, an arbiter of Law, an insurer of Equality. The seat of the late Justice Scalia must be filled by one who is wed to the duty of the Court, not to the ideology of the President. I will not appoint a judge to overturn Roe v. Wade, or Obergefell v. Hodges. I will appoint a judge to uphold, with wisdom, our laws; and to protect, with measured certainty and and fast determination, all that which is guaranteed by our Constitution.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, insure domestic Tranquility. Our nation, this great democratic experiment, must bind together, and work with a common vision toward a common goal. We must embrace those who think differently than we do, just as tightly as we embrace those who think alike. If we must disagree, then we must disagree only with the Man’s ideas, not the Man.

Our schools must be better; our streets must be safer; our leaders must listen harder; our police must peacefully coexist with their communities. America can be as good as her people, and as strong as the relationships among them. To move forward, we must move forward together.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, provide for the common defense. We have the most powerful military in the world, and I take seriously my promise to keep our country safe. We must have strong borders, yes. But they must be strong to keep those within them safe, not to keep others out. We must not forget that solemn declaration inscribed upon the Statue of Liberty all those years ago:

“Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me, I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

We, together, must hold that lamp aloft, and work with diligence to keep the flame alight. We must in solidarity hold open that door, so all all freedom-loving men and women across the world may enter. We must welcome with open arms those who flee lawless persecution, so their children may have a better life—as Americans.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, promote the general Welfare. We must not strip health care from those who need it most. I will not cease working until the framework of our nation’s healthcare can support every person. This is not a partisan issue, but a dire need that must be satisfied, and a duty owed by this Government to its People.

Nor is climate change is a partisan issue; it is real, and it demands attention. No longer can our country afford to put Science in the same boxing ring as Opinion, and call it an evenly matched bout. Belief and public opinion may change; but in the end, what is true will always remain true. I promise to recognize truth, to act on truth, and to speak the truth.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Have no doubt—Liberty is a blessing. Our Constitution, and the wisdom of those who wrote it, is a blessing; one that we must protect with the strongest of convictions, and the firmest of faith.

On January 20th, before you and before the world, I took a solemn oath: to faithfully execute the Office of President, to preserve, protect and defend the our Constitution.

Today, I ask for your faith.  Faith in me. Faith in my dedication to this Office and this country. Faith in my dedication to you. I ask for the chance to lead, and to lead well, with the pose and dignity required by this Office.

And I promise to deliver.

Thank you, God bless you.

And God bless these United States of America.

Leave a Reply

